this trailer for the new Junji Ito anime Cartoon Network for Uzumaki makes me so ໒(^ᴥ^)७. I absolutely love this style choice to go with black and white and mimic the pages of the manga. Even if Uzumaki/The Spiral is the least interesting, and most overrated of Mr. Ito's output, I'll definitely be watching (if i can figure out where cartoon netwok is in the streaming service cybermire)

Ok I know i just did a Search Engine Themed Link Dump but I just-just discovered there's a Wojak search engine and I couldn't not share it. Behold, WojakParadise.net! Scientific proof that the internet is truly the abyss that stares back.

I think my favorite part about the site is that there's a log-in button at the top, and I truly wish I could read a novel from the POV of someone that has an account on WojackParadise.net.

LINK.DUMP #015 - A Search Engine Themed Link Dump!
Search film stills, 3d models, the latest AI tools and Web1.0. Find out what song is playing in the background of that one scene in Atlanta and track down the name of an anime based on a single screenshot! and furry pr0n.

.

. . .JUNE HIGHLIGHTS

LSR- Panel Sessions

READING - PTSD Radio Vol.1; Vol. 2;

DELIVERY:
. . . Coin; Teeth;

. . . . . . Futurism & Fascism Video
. . . . IN PROGRESS

Not much to mention, june blew past pretty quickly and i plumb forgot july existed until it was upon me. The best part of the month was deciding to get back into making video projects, which Im still working on. Trust that next month will be rich with updates.
. . . . . . . . . . . . . A Scary Story. . . .

C://humantooth/2023/May
. . . . . . .

.

LINK.DUMP #013 - Digital Magazines, Italian hackers, and links to more links to more links.

hallo little french fries

Abril has come and gone and it was another good one. The month started with me in Taiwan, alone, which was so so nice. Eating things and picking up magical souveniers for myself and a lucky few back home.


would you look at my lil baby!

I picked up this this guy on my last day in Taipei at a pop-up vintage toy fair at one of the endcaps of the underground mall that runs vertically alongside the subway tunnels between Taipei Main Station and Beimen. Its one of my favorite places in the world and has to be experienced to be understood. It's more than a half km in length, an extra long hallway with outward facing stores lined up in the middle and facing in along the sides. It has different "districts" with claw machine arcades and rows and rows of gatcha machines stacked head high throughout. There's a videogame district where new releases lure in throngs of high school kids, dozens of shops for anime figurines and manga drops resulting in cosplay sundays, and indonesian markets and restaurants in the foodcourt for the south east asian muslim migrant population that come to Taiwan as careworkers. There's blind folks that give deep tissue massage, theres sighted folks that give butcher knife massage, fortune telling, face reading, and a whole lot of bootlegging. ice cream vendors, shoe shops, clothing stores, jewelry stores, phone accessories and a family mart. i love it. i went to the underground mall when it was raining, when it was hot, when i was bored, popping out whenever i needed a smoke break and diving back in to wander the other side.

In terms of work, I put in some hours on two proposals and redid some slides for a truly infernal powerpoint presentation.

I put out another video for LSR (see above) and we settled on the date for this year's event. On the social side, I now have access to the Instagram account, which I will be populating with sexy sex robot art so you can follow that if you want to see some cyborg geishas and mecha art on your feed (at the time of this writing ive only posted one pic to their account, which im sure youll be able to pick out).
-and-
I joined a really great community of lovedoll users on a discord server for lovedoll magazine. Im always taken by how kind everyone is and I met my first female lovedoll owner! Its cool to talk shop on the state of sex robots and access to the internal workings of both the industry and the robots themselves

I started listening to a phenomenal audiobook called An Immense World (Ed Yong) while boarding Chola during Israel's trip to Florida*. The book is about how animals perceive the world and how their senses have evolved in different ways to ensure their success. Its a fantastic pairing with Children of Ruin and follow up to Children of Time, a sci-fi series ive been getting into about evolutionarily accelerated octopi and spiders respectively. a lot of the things im learning about in the non-fiction book are lining up with the speculative evolution of the fictional works. Funny enough theres another book about Octopi society which I am also looking forward to (The Mountain and the Sea). And when Im done with Immense World, I have another audiobook to check out about how animals dream. I have found I prefer to listen to nonfiction whenever possible, something about it really lets the facts sink in and im better at recalling concepts since I can pair it with whatever I was doing at the time.. Most of the time its walking chola, so whenever I think about Naomi Kleins shock doctrine I usually picture her little butthole or the handful of times I had my headphones on in sculpture class

I have a few projects lined up for the month coming up, a few of them will be online, and I just now before writing this registered as an LLC and business in the state of california. At least I think I did. Anyway Ill spill a bit more on that if things come together the way I hope they will and of course will update on my digital projects once i get them coded.

i guess thats it. Hope youre all doing well and actually exist

*she nearly wept with joy when we went to pick him up at the airport after a week, and yet when i got back from taiwan after a month she was like whos this bitch standing in the doorway

Sorry, no song this month, ive been on an audiobook kick

A few days ago I woke up to discover dream notes scribbled down at some point during the night prior. It had to do with AI, and the reason technobillionairesª like Mr. Musk insist we need to set hard limits on AI, and yet still fund its development. After chatting with a few friends online, its blossomed into a wonderful, humanity-affirming theory -a happy conspiracy- which you can read here.

ªwhich i reffered to in my notes as technobillys

While im still getting around to posting about Taiwan, I would be remiss if I didnt dedicate some space to my most favorite-of-favorite bookstores -not only for its wares, but for the sake of it being in my most favorite-of-favorite cities, Taipei- so visiting it entails grabbing a drink at the OKMart on the corner, easy-to-win claw machines nearby, and limitless snax at a nightmarket for dinner. On top of Mangasick having one of the best curated selections of weird indie press and zines, it is tucked away on a moped lined alley with virtually no indication from the street of what lies inside. Thus, being able to locate it to begin with already gives you something of a small thrill...

The only signage is a little bitty tile featuring the Mangasick logo.

Once you find it, a single strung bulb will indicate whether or not they are open.
Mangasick, as far as I can tell, is run by a couple who arrange their hours of operation based on their own personal convenience. When I last visited, doors opened at 3pm Friday-Sunday.

There is no buzzer, so push your way through the slatted door, and take off your shoes at the bottom of the stairwell before entering. Before you can get to the shop, you'll have to cross through the gallery, further extending the speakeasy vibe. The gallery is usually filled with original artwork for a featured title they are selling in-shop, like inked panels for a manga, or paintings used for a monograph. Past exhibitors have included asian horror heavy-weights like Shintaro Kago and Junji Ito, and Ive personally caught shows from Little Thunder and that guy that paints intricate sexy vampires. In the gallery you will find signed copies of the artists work or exclusively printed sketchbook reproductions.

Now that youve finally made your way in, find a shelf, dig in, and try not to scream. This shop is usually as quiet as their selection is dope, making it a particularly trialing experience for Americans. A lot of books are handmade, impossible to find online and fairly priced. I got a super sick silk-screen book of illustrations that came in a black mylar plastic bag with a mirror vinyl sticker (see below) for about 6 bucks. And if their for-sale shit doesnt absolutely floor you, you can also pay 100NTD to browse the couple's out-of-print out-of-stock library.

MANGASICK Website
(Mandarin)


from: SecondSkin

I realize im running up against the halfway-point for the month of April to post my monthly recap for march, but at the same time, no one fucking cares, least of all me.

hi guys. it me.
March was an absolute joy, having spent the second half in my personal Oz, Taiwan. Shuttling back and forth on the High Speed Rail between Taipei and Kaohsiung, it was time well spent. I lived in Taiwan from 2017-2020, eating delicious things, prowling night markets, wrecking claw machines and getting my masters degree. This trip was a repeat of that without the getting a degree thing, and a bigger budget for silly shit.
and i want to do a full run down on what a rad time i had on sweet potato island, but the effort forecast to pull it off is quite high, and i dont have too much fuel in me right now. cuz its like i can either not talk about it or go over everything. though. let me tell you two things i learned on the plane. On the way there:


1) This movie is absolutely sick.

not only did i watch it, i watched it twice. Korean sci fi with time travel, guns, and medieval korean sorcerers. so good. so likable. And it does a lot of heavy lifting to make me think asian guys might actually be attractive(‡). Tbh, I think this is what its like for white people when they see marvel movies or lord of the rings shit.* (WATCH TRAILER HERE)

2) On the way back i learned that this guy is absolutely crucial for any flight longer than 6 hours (LAX to TPE 14.5hrs, TPE to LAX 11hrs) **Not sponsored**

Prior to the trip I was able to catch the Anselm Kiefer exhibit at the [insert museum name here]. I havent had the opportunity to see his work since i first discovered him at the SFMoma in [year], and it hit just as hard as the first time. If you've ever seen any of his work you'll realize how utterly hilarious these postage stamp sized representations are that came on the gallery handout. i went with my baby bro, his wife, and clark who had the most thoughtful of birthday gifts for me (a Dr Phil coffee mug). my birthday was on the 17th and i got to have 3 birthday cakes with each member of my immediate family which was really sweet (figuratively, literally, spiritually).


Song of the month:

The Pixies - hey!

right before jumping on the train to LA i watched Grosse Point Blank for the first time and first of all, its an adorable romcom if youve never seen it. Jon Cusack, Dan Akroyd, guns; perfection for what it is. Secondly, it has a super fun and phenomenal soundtrack, and one of the Pixies songs was in my head while leaving, so i downloaded Doolittle and went on my way. Listened to it on the train, the bus, the train again. I forgot just how weird the pixies were/are. like its hard to imagine the songs being written, or birthed. Then when I get on the plane it was one of the few bits of music I actually had stored locally on my phone, and the same while I galavanted around Taiwan. So the whole album is gold and could have been song of the month, however I chose this one in particular because I kept daydreaming little scenarios for who the song is about, from the singer's perpective.

plus, idk if this happens with everyone, but ill pretend it does and use the first, second and third person plural, but we can hear a song a hundred times and its just music playing, but sometimes, some songs will get an accompanying visual memory etched into them and you never know when its coming, or even when its happening. so now im stepping off the MRT at 中山 station going up the escalator, and about to swipe my way through the gate whenever it comes on.

*maybe cuz its a movie filmed in an asian country, unlike things that are produced in the US that have an asian cast, like Crazy Rich Asians or Beef and every non-asian person i know asking if ive seen it. that doesnt feel like representation to me. it feels liek im expected to engage with it because of what they did on their end, but with this i feel happy? proud? to be part of the world that is azn.
‡ ive dated an azn before but its never been me to see an azn guy and think hubba-hubba, much less awooga.